GDC VI New Exec. elected & announcements


Dear Members,

Our Annual General Meeting took place on January 31, 2008. For those who were unable to attend, a package will be sent to you soon that contains the annual report, financial records and other materials of interest.

Many thanks to the outgoing executive for all their work, time and passion over the past two years. As you'll note, many remain on the executive for another term. Your newly elected executive members for the 2008/09 term are:

President - Valerie Elliott MGDC   
Past President - Kirsty Armstrong MGDC
Vice President (1-3) - vacant at this time 
Secretary - Tara Kerner LGDC
Treasurer - Lynette Sawyer LGDC
North Island Rep - Ian Finlayson MGDC
South Island Rep - Alice Young MGDC
National Council Rep - Patrice Snopkowski MGDC

(Executive committee appointments will be made at our next exec. meeting on Feb 18 and will be announced at that time)

This year we developed a scholarship to support student with their education and aptly named in honour of our two GDC VI Fellows, Michael Marshall (founding president) and Peggy Cady (past chapter and national president). Three $500 student scholarships will be presented annually. Keep watching your newsletters for more details.

The call for entries is open! Submissions deadline is: Friday April 11. Mark your calendars for the Gala celebration taking place on Saturday May 24. For more info on the event, call for entries, eligibility, judges, etc.:

Your executive is already working toward its goals for the coming two years. Action plans are underway for outreach and improving value to members. We hope you too will be interested in contributing in your way to increase awareness and the value of good design in business strategy.

I look forward to working for, and with each of you for the next term. Please feel free to contact me or other executive members anytime with your questions and comments.

Naturally, Valerie
Valerie Elliott MGDC, CERT PR
President 2008/09
Membership Chair, Ethics Chair, Environmental Chair
Vancouver Island Chapter
Society of Graphic Designers of Canada (GDC)